

## **RUG Award winners**

2nd November 2013

Railfuture is pleased to announce the winners of this year's Rail User Group Awards.

These were awarded at Railfuture's annual conference in Oxford by rail writer and Railfuture president Christian Wolmar. The judging panel was Ian Brown, Barry Doe, Roger Ford, Chris Green.

Best Campaign

Barking-Gospel Oak RUG - http://www.barking-gospeloak.org.uk/ Commended: Harrogate Line Supporters Group - http://www.harrogatechamber.org/harrogateline.htm Commended: South East Northumberland RUG - http://www.senrug.co.uk/

Best Campaigner, the Clara Zilahi Award, in memory of a stalwart East Anglia branch member and national Board Director who died this year:

Steve Smith, leads Bedwyn Trains Passenger Group - http://www.bedwyntrains.org.uk/ [silver award for best website last year]

Best Website Gold award to Portishead Railway Group - http://portisheadrailwaygroup.org/ Silver award to Avocet Line RUG - http://www.avocetline.org.uk/

Best New Group, the Oliver Lovell Award, in memory of the Cotswold Line Promotion Group founder who died this year - CLPG were double award-winners last year, for best newsletter and best campaign. Harrogate Line Supporters Group - http://www.harrogatechamber.org/harrogateline.htm

Best Newsletter Avocet Line RUG - http://www.avocetline.org.uk/ - newsletters not available online

Judges' Special Award

Peter Wakefield, Chair of East Anglia branch, for his work on the Wisbech campaign http://wisbechrail.org.uk/ and http://www.railfuture.org.uk/March+-+Wisbech - not a RUG as such, more a group of potential rail users in the future, or a virtual RUG.as one of the VPs said.

\_\_\_\_\_