Who we are

Railfuture is the UK's leading independent organisation campaigning for better rail services for passengers and freight. We are a voluntary group representing rail users, with 20,000 affiliated and individual members. Railfuture is a one-member one-vote democracy which is not funded by train companies, political parties or trade unions. See our Annual Review of our successes and our campaigns.

Our Honorary President is Christian Wolmar, the transport writer and broadcaster.

Our Vice Presidents include former rail chief executives and managing directors Chris Green, Ian Brown CBE, and Stewart Palmer along with railway specialists such as Roger Ford and Alan Williams, plus several MPs and Lords.

Elections are held annually among Railfuture members to choose the Board which governs Railfuture.

Individual members form the national groups which determine policy and manage the activities of the society. Railfuture has 12 branches in England, plus Wales and Scotland, which meet locally and campaign on local issues.

About us | Annual Review | Media | Members area | Member services | Contact us | Privacy