Railfuture organisation

Railfuture AGM

The 2019 AGM will be held in Cardiff on Saturday 18 May 2019.

The 2018 AGM was held on 12 May 2018 in Edinburgh. See AGM 2018.

The 2017 AGM was held on 20 May 2017 in Peterborough. See AGM 2017.

The 2016 AGM was held on 21 May 2016 in Milton Keynes. See AGM 2016.

The 2015 AGM was held on 15 May 2015 in Blackpool. See AGM 2015.

The 2014 AGM was held on 10 May 2014 in Sheffield. See AGM 2014.

An Extraordinary General Meeting was held on 2 November 2013 in Oxford. See EGM 2013.

The 2013 AGM was held on 11 May 2013 in Durham. See AGM 2013.

The 2012 AGM was held on 12 May 2012 in Worcester. See AGM 2012.

The 2011 AGM was held on 7 May 2011 in Brighton. See AGM 2011.

A new set of Standing Orders for future General Meetings was adopted at the 2016 AGM. View or download them.

Annual Reviews/Reports

You can view or download the annual reviews/reports:
Railfuture national Board
Railfuture has a nine-strong Board who are elected by the entire membership, each for a 3-year term so with one-third of the Directors elected annually. Directors are bound by their own Code of Conduct.

Nominate/choose a director
Nominations for Directors must be received no later than 1 February each year. If there are more candidates than vacant places then a ballot will take place, with each member being sent a voting paper in late March/early April.

Since 2008 Directors have had a three-year term, with one third of the directors being elected by the whole membership each year. Since May 2016 the chairman has been appointed from within the directors rather than being elected separately.

The Vice-Chairman and all of the directors with a portfoilo - Passenger Director, Infrastructure Director, Freight Director, Communications Director, Corporate Governance Director, Finance & IT Director - are appointed by the Directors from among themselves.

If a director resigns or otherwise vacates a post during the year their place will remain vacant until the next AGM, when a new Director may be elected to serve the balance of their 3-year term. However, the directors may co-opt according to the rules stated in the Memorandum and Articles of Association. A co-opted director remains only until the next AGM (or the AGM after if they were appointed after nominations for new directors closed).

Go to Elections for details on how to vote or stand for election. You can also download a nomination form.

The results are announced at the national AGM held every May.

Honorary President
Christian Wolmar

Honorary Vice-presidents
A list and brief details of Railfuture Vice presidents

Railfuture operates as a company limited by guarantee, RDS Ltd, and therefore has a Memorandum and Articles of Association as amended May 2016 (download PDF 250kB.)

National Groups
Individual members form the National Groups which determine policy and manage the activities of the society.

Railfuture has 12 branches in England, plus Wales and Scotland, which meet locally and campaign on local issues.

All members, including Directors, have a Resolution of Problems process available. All members are bound by a Code of Conduct.

Railfuture holds an annual Branches and Groups Day with representatives from our national Groups and regional Branches. In 2018 it will be held on Saturday 6 October, in Birmingham.
A report of the conclusions and agreed action plan from the 2014 Railfuture Branches and Groups Day on 11th October 2014 can be viewed or downloaded.

Rail User Express Rail Action